Historic site and monument
in Volonne

Village de Volonne

Vorouno in Provençal, the etymology would come from the Celtic words "Vel Aon" meaning towards the waters, the village being located at the confluence of the Durance and the Grave torrent. It is sometimes said that it is the little Nice of the Alps for its sunny exposure.
Volonne is a small medieval village of 1 inhabitants at the foot of a rocky outcrop overlooked by two towers (the highest from the 700th century is an old fortress and the lowest from the XNUMXth century is the communal clock). Volonne offers its picturesque streets cool in summer, and imprinted with a rich historical past. In the central street we find the houses with medieval doors. In the rue de Vière we find old ramparts and a XNUMXth century aqueduct.

The Two Towers

The Chemin des 2 Tours offers a breathtaking panorama of the Val de Durance. This fortified place was intended to serve as an observation site at the time of invasions. The taller of the two towers is an old watchtower dating from the 13th century. As for the lower tower, it has been standing since the end of the XNUMXth century. the community clock. The numerous orchards which extend across the Volonne plain bear witness to the mildness of its climate.

St. Martin's Church

Above the stadium, the old Saint-Martin church, adjoining the cemetery, is a major building of early Romanesque art (11th century). It is one of the oldest specimens of early southern Romanesque art. The 17th century bastide castle in the center of the village and its staircase present an exceptional decoration of plasterwork, free visit.

The Napoleon Route

On the morning of March 5, Napoleon hit the road again and dined on duck and olives at the “Poisson d’Or” inn in Volonne. A mural in front of the Volonne fountain recalls the passage of the Emperor. At the exit of the village, on a stone of an old house is engraved “Eishi lou March 5, 1815, Napoleon 1st PP” which is translated as “Here on March 5, 1815 Napoleon 1st passed and pissed”!
We speak French

Themes:

  • Historical patrimony
  • City Village

Location details

  • Lake or body of water within 300 m
  • River or river within 300 m
  • Pond less than 300 m
  • Mountain view
  • In the city
  • Public transport stop within 500 m
  • Lake or body of water at -5 km
  • River at -5 km
  • At the water's edge

Visit

Customers

Suitable for: Hikers, mountain bikers

Prices

Free

Services

Equipments

  • Restaurant
  • Public toilets
  • Playground

Linked offers

On the spot…

Address

Town Hall – 1 Place Charles de Gaulle
04290 Volonne
How do I get there?

Was this content useful to you?

Site et monument historique
à Volonne

Village de Volonne

Vorouno en provençal, l'étymologie viendrait des mots celtes "Vel Aon" signifiant vers les eaux, le village se situant au confluent de la Durance et du torrent de la Grave. On dit parfois que c'est le petit Nice des Alpes pour son exposition ensoleillée.
Volonne est un petit village médiéval de 1 700 habitants au pied d'un éperon rocheux surplombé par deux tours (la plus haute du XIIIe siècle est une ancienne forteresse et la plus basse du XVIe siècle est l'horloge communale). Volonne offre ses ruelles pittoresques fraîches en été, et empreintes d'un riche passé historique. Dans la rue centrale on retrouve les maisons à portes médiévales. Dans la rue de Vière on rencontre des vieux remparts et un aqueduc du XVIe siècle.

Les Deux Tours

Le chemin des 2 Tours offre un panorama imprenable sur le Val de Durance. Ce lieu fortifié avait pour but de servir d’observation à l’époque des invasions. La plus élevée des deux tours est une ancienne tour de guet datant du 13e siècle. Quant à la tour inférieure, elle porte depuis la fin du XVIe siècle. l’horloge communale. Les nombreux vergers qui s’étendent dans la plaine de Volonne témoignent de la douceur de son climat.

L’Église Saint-Martin

Au-dessus du stade, l’ancienne église Saint-Martin, jouxtant le cimetière, est un édifice majeur du premier art roman (XIe siècle). Elle est l’un des plus anciens spécimens du premier art roman méridional. Le château bastide du XVIIe siècle dans le centre du village et son escalier présentent un exceptionnel décor de gypseries, visite libre.

La Route Napoléon

Le 5 mars au matin, Napoléon reprend la route et se restaure d’un canard aux olives dans l’auberge du “Poisson d’Or” à Volonne. Une fresque murale devant la fontaine de Volonne rappelle le passage de l’Empereur. À la sortie du village, sur une pierre d’une vielle maison est gravé “Eishi lou 5 mars 1815, Napoléon 1er P.P” ce qui est traduit par “Ici le 5 mars 1815 Napoléon 1er passa et pissa” !
Nous parlons : Français

Thèmes

  • Patrimoine historique
  • Ville / Village

Précisions localisations

  • Lac ou plan d'eau à moins de 300 m
  • Etang à moins de 300 m
  • Arrêt de transport en commun à moins de 500 m
  • Lac ou plan d'eau à -5 km
  • Rivière à -5 km
  • Au bord de l'eau
  • En ville
  • Rivière ou fleuve à moins de 300 m
  • Vue montagne

Visite

Clientèles

Adapté à : Randonneurs, VTTistes

Tarifs

Gratuit

Prestations

Équipements

  • WC publics
  • Aire de jeux
  • Restaurant

Offres liées

Sur place…

Adresse

Mairie – 1 Place Charles de Gaulle
04290 Volonne
Comment m’y rendre ?

Ce contenu vous a été utile ?