The region of Digne-les-Bains has the world's largest collection of works by Andy Goldsworthy gathered in the same space.

Refuge d'Art is a single work to be covered in around ten days of walking. This route, unique in Europe, crosses the exceptional landscapes of theUNESCO Geopark of Haute Provence and combines contemporary art, hiking and the promotion of natural and cultural heritage in a unique way.

José Nicolas

River of Earth

The very first Art Refuge has as its setting the Gassendi Museum in the heart of Digne-les-Bains.

Connecting three sentinels (dry stone cairns) in the heart of three valleys, the route follows old paths and crosses traces of a once intense agricultural life. Andy Goldsworthy wanted to punctuate this route with refuges, old ruined habitats belonging to small unprotected rural heritage (chapels, farms, etc.) which have been restored to shelter hikers for a stopover or a night. A sculpture designed specifically in each of its sites is now an integral part of the building.

Portrait of Andy Goldsworthy
Gassendi museum

Andy Goldsworthy

An artist of British origin, he is one of the recognized figures of Land Art. Invited in residence by the Gassendi Museum and the Haute Provence Geological Nature Reserve at the end of the 1990s, Andy Goldsworthy fell in love with the Dignois territory. Here he created his “Sentinels” and “Art Refuges” during numerous visits.

 

 

 

 

Starting point

The Gassendi Museum

A monumental work – River of Earth

The Gassendi Museum constitutes both the starting point and the arrival point of Art Refuge.
He houses River of Earth, the first Art Refuge was created in 1999 by Andy Goldsworthy. A monumental clay wall of more than 50 m², it is exhibited on the fourth floor of the building, in a vast space: the landscape room.
This room confronts two visions of the idea of ​​landscape: the romantic and traditional vision of Provençal painters influenced by the ideals of Frédéric Mistral and the contemporary vision of Andy Goldsworthy.

Atlantic Ballet at the Gassendi Museum in front of the work of Andy Goldsworthy
Gassendi Museum

Little story

The work River of Earth was made from clay from Penpont (Scotland) and hair from Dignoises and Dignois.

This work emerged in Andy’s mind when Régine Chopinot, choreographer for the “Ballet Atlantique” company, offered him a new collaboration.

I have regularly come to work in Digne since 1995. Each visit seems to have generated an idea and a reason to come back. Ballet Atlantique and Digne have always been linked for me. When Régine offered me a second collaboration, our discussions focused on the idea of ​​a river.

Visit the museum

Firm. Opens at 10:00 p.m.
64 Boulevard Gassendi
04000 Digne-les-Bains
Calculate my route

Art as a pretext for walking

Art shelter

Nap break in front of the Esclangon art refuge
PAA The Naturographer

A unique work of art

Art shelter is therefore both a unique work of art and an authentic hiking route. It is in fact made up of several artistic installations to “go through” between 8 and 10 days of walking. At the heart of theUNESCO Geopark of Haute Provence, the 150 km can be done roaming or by star (day trip).
An IGN map specially published for this artistic project presents the complete itinerary as well as the day hikes. On the back, the hiker will find a presentation of the works (Refuges and Sentinels) in French and English as well as practical and tourist information to prepare for his walk.

The sculpture here is not just the stone, it's the house, it's the whole route

Mountain guides aware of art

The association Art on the way brings together professionals (mountain guides, accommodation providers, restaurateurs, etc.) aware of the mountain art collection of the Gassendi Museum.
Using their service ensures optimal support around works of art in the great outdoors.

Learn more

Was this content useful to you?

La région de Digne-les-Bains dispose de la plus vaste collection au monde des œuvres d’Andy Goldsworthy réunies dans un même espace.

Refuge d’Art est une seule œuvre à parcourir en une dizaine de jours de marche. Ce parcours unique en Europe traverse sur 150 km les paysages exceptionnels de l’UNESCO Géoparc de Haute Provence et allie de façon singulière l’art contemporain, la randonnée et la valorisation du patrimoine naturel et culturel.

José Nicolas

River of Earth

Le tout premier Refuge d’Art a comme écrin le Musée Gassendi au cœur de Digne-les-Bains.

Reliant trois sentinelles (cairns en pierre sèche) au cœur de trois vallées, le trajet emprunte d’anciens chemins et croise les traces d’une vie agricole autrefois intense. Andy Goldsworthy a souhaité ponctuer ce parcours de refuges, d’anciens habitats en ruine appartenant au petit patrimoine rural non protégé (chapelles, fermes…) qui ont été restaurés pour abriter les randonneurs le temps d’une halte ou d’une nuit. Une sculpture conçue spécifiquement dans chacun de ses sites fait désormais partie intégrante du bâti.

Portrait d'Andy Goldsworthy
musée Gassendi

Andy Goldsworthy

Artiste d’origine britannique, il est une des figures reconnues du Land Art. Invité en résidence par le Musée Gassendi et la Réserve Naturelle Géologique de Haute Provence à la fin des années 1990, Andy Goldsworthy tombe amoureux du territoire Dignois. Ici il créé ses «Sentinelles» et «Refuges d’Art» au cours de nombreuses visites.

 

 

 

 

Point de départ

Le Musée Gassendi

Une œuvre monumentale – River of Earth

Le Musée Gassendi constitue à la fois le point de départ et le point d’arrivée de Refuge d’Art.
Il abrite River of Earth, le premier Refuge d’Art a avoir été réalisé en 1999 par Andy Goldsworthy. Monumental mur d’argile de plus de 50 m², il est exposé au quatrième étage du bâtiment, dans un vaste espace : la salle des paysages.
Cette salle confronte deux visions de l’idée de paysage : la vision romantique et traditionnelle des peintres provençaux influencés par les idéaux de Frédéric Mistral et la vision contemporaine d’Andy Goldsworthy.

Ballet Atlantique au Musée Gassendi devant l'oeuvre d'Andy Goldsworthy
Musée Gassendi

Pour la petite histoire

L’œuvre River of Earth a été réalisée en argile de Penpont (Ecosse) et cheveux de dignoises et dignois.

Cette œuvre émergea dans l’esprit d’Andy lorsque Régine Chopinot, chorégraphe pour la compagnie “le Ballet Atlantique” lui propose une nouvelle collaboration.

Je suis régulièrement venu travailler à Digne depuis 1995. Chaque visite semble avoir généré une idée et une raison de revenir. Le Ballet Atlantique et Digne ont toujours été liés pour moi. Lorsque Régine m'a proposé une seconde collaboration, nos discussions se sont centrées sur l'idée de rivière.

Visiter le musée

Fermé. Ouvre à 09h00
64 boulevard Gassendi
04000 Digne-les-Bains
Calculer mon itinéraire

Exposition Temporaire

Andy Goldsworthy : Retour sur un travail solitaire

Donnés par l’artiste au Musée Gassendi en 2023, plus de 40 dessins de projets inachevés sont exposés au Musée Gassendi ainsi que des photographies d’œuvres éphémères, des vidéos et des performances réalisées par l’artiste britannique lors de ses multiples séjours dans les Alpes de Haute-Provence.

Exposition visible du 14 juillet au 24 décembre 2023.

Exposition Andy Goldsworthy au Musée Gassendi à Digne les Bains

L’art comme prétexte à la marche

Refuge d’art

Pause sieste devant le refuge d'art d'Esclangon
PAA Le Naturographe

Une oeuvre d'art unique

Refuge d’art est donc à la fois une oeuvre d’art unique et un authentique itinéraire de randonnée. Il est composé en effet de plusieurs installations artistiques à « parcourir » entre 8 et 10 jours de marche. Au cœur de l’UNESCO Géoparc de Haute Provence, les 150 km peuvent se faire en itinérance ou en étoile (parcours à la journée).
Une carte IGN spécialement éditée pour ce projet artistique présente l’itinéraire complet ainsi que les parcours de randonnée à la journée. Au verso, le randonneur trouvera une présentation des œuvres (Refuges et Sentinelles) en français et anglais ainsi que des informations pratiques et touristiques pour préparer sa marche.

La sculpture ici ce n’est pas seulement la pierre, c’est la maison, c’est tout le parcours

Des accompagnateurs en montagne sensibilisés à l’art

L’association L’art en chemin regroupe des professionnels (accompagnateurs en montagne, hébergeurs, restaurateurs…) sensibilisés à la collection d’art en montagne du Musée Gassendi.
Faire appel à leur service assure un accompagnement optimal autour des œuvres d’art en pleine nature.

En savoir plus

Ce contenu vous a été utile ?