Historic site and monument
in Draix

Village de Draix

Draix, 860 m above sea level located at the foot of Cheval Blanc and 12 km from Digne-les-Bains. Come and discover this charming little village, its black earth, its Sarteau Pear, its Art Refuge and its various hikes.
During the Second World War, the guerrillas of a school for Resistance cadres set up their camp at the Belon farm in Draix. This school supervised young refractory to the STO, the Compulsory Work Service.
Unfortunately, on February 14, 1944, despite signals from the villagers, 13 guerrillas were arrested by a German detachment and then taken away for deportation.

Art Refuge.

The artist Andy Goldsworthy rehabilitated the Belon farm into an “Art Refuge” symbolizing these events. The artist describes his work as follows: “The ground floor has few windows and a low ceiling. The darkness will be pierced by intense rays of light. This is the ideal atmosphere for building white stone arches: they will appear like architectural ghosts and their number must be sufficient to communicate to the room an impression of movement and circulation. The stone will be the same as that of the Sentinels. White, alive, in the light and space of the building. I like the idea of ​​the Sentinels being lookouts for the arks.“

Sarteau pear.

You will also discover there every year, a festival that promotes the Poire Sarteau, a real heritage of the village of Draix.
We speak French

Themes:

  • Historical patrimony
  • City Village

Location details

  • In the countryside
  • Village center
  • Mountain view

Prices

Free

Linked offers

On the spot…

Address

04420 Draix
How do I get there?

Was this content useful to you?

Site et monument historique
à Draix

Village de Draix

Draix, 860 m d'altitude situé au pied du Cheval Blanc et à 12 km de Digne-les-Bains. Venez découvrir ce charmant petit village , ses terres noires , sa Poire Sarteau, son Refuge d'Art et ses diverses randonnées.
Durant la Seconde Guerre Mondiale, les maquisards d’une école des cadres de la Résistance installèrent leur camp à la ferme des Belon, à Draix. Cette école encadrait les jeunes réfractaires au STO, le Service du Travail Obligatoire.
Malheureusement, le 14 février 1944, malgré les signaux émis par les villageois, 13 maquisards sont arrêtés par un détachement allemand puis emmenés en vue de leur déportation.

Refuge d’Art.

L’artiste Andy Goldsworthy a réhabilité la ferme des Belon en « Refuge d’art » symbolisant ces événements. L’artiste décrit son œuvre ainsi: ” Le rez-de-chaussée a peu de fenêtres et un plafond bas. L’obscurité sera percée par des rayons intenses de lumière. C’est l’atmosphère idéale pour édifier des arches de pierre blanche : elles apparaîtront comme des fantômes architecturaux et leur nombre devra être suffisant pour communiquer à la pièce une impression de mouvement et de circulation. La pierre sera la même que celle des Sentinelles. Blanche, vivante, dans la lumière et l’espace du bâtiment. J’aime l’idée que les Sentinellles soient des guetteurs pour les arches.“

Poire sarteau.

Vous y découvrirez aussi chaque année, une fête qui valorise la Poire Sarteau, un véritable patrimoine du village de Draix.
Nous parlons : Français

Thèmes

  • Patrimoine historique
  • Ville / Village

Précisions localisations

  • Centre village
  • A la campagne
  • Vue montagne

Tarifs

Gratuit

Offres liées

Adresse

04420 Draix
Comment m’y rendre ?

Ce contenu vous a été utile ?