Historic site and monument
in Digne-les-Bains

Cathédrale Notre-Dame du Bourg

Mentioned for the first time in 1180, Notre Dame du Bourg cathedral is one of the most beautiful Romanesque churches in Provence, thanks to its single nave and its four large bays. It was classified as a Historic Monument in 1840.
The construction of the Notre-Dame du Bourg cathedral dates from the end of the XNUMXth century beginning of the XNUMXth century. It was carried out in the straight line of a succession of buildings of Christian religion which were established, unique case, on a pagan necropolis.

It was built on the foundations of a primitive basilica from the 1962th century, in the heart of the ancient city, when the place was already depopulated. Indeed, from the XNUMXth century, the Dignoise population began to move to the Bellegarde plateau, to better protect themselves against attacks and invasions. The Bourg district was then abandoned in favor of the upper town, sheltered by the bishop's castle. Isolated and unprotected, Notre Dame du Bourg Cathedral suffered looting and damage. Its use was gradually reduced from the XNUMXth century until it functioned practically only for funeral ceremonies until the XNUMXth century. While the Saint-Jérôme church located in the new town became a substitute building and was recognized as a co-cathedral in XNUMX.
Of Romanesque art with a regular structure in schist, a local material, the Notre-Dame du Bourg cathedral is imposing in its size and its architecture with sober and majestic lines. Its unique barrel-shaped nave underlines its particularity, as do the paintings dated 1480 which adorn it. Excavated by Gabrielle Démians d'Archimbaud, archaeologist and professor of medieval history at the University of Letters and Human Sciences of Aix-en-Provence, it was restored by Francesco Flavigny, chief architect of historical monuments during the decades 1980-1990. today houses part of the archaeological crypt and an entire liturgical ensemble created by a contemporary artist, David Rabinowitch. It has now taken its place as a cathedral since 1996.
Further information) :
For guided tours: inquire at the Crypt on 04 92 61 09 73
We speak French

Themes:

  • Religious Heritage
  • Cathedral

Location details

  • Public transport stop within 500 m
  • Bus stop within 500 m
  • In the city

Visit

Minimum group size: 50 people

Opening

Opening hours from July 02 to September 29, 2024
TuesdayOpen from 15 a.m. to 18 p.m.
WednesdayOpen from 15 a.m. to 18 p.m.
ThursdayOpen from 15 a.m. to 18 p.m.
FridayOpen from 15 a.m. to 18 p.m.
SaturdayOpen from 15 a.m. to 18 p.m.
SundayOpen from 15 a.m. to 18 p.m.

Prices

Access to the cathedral is free, as are guided tours for groups by reservation at the Archaeological Crypt: 04 92 61 09 73.
Free

Services

Equipments

  • Parking nearby
  • Parking
  • Coach parking
  • Public toilets

Services

  • Coach access
  • Free visits
  • Guided tours

Home animals

Pets are not accepted

Adapted tourism

Adapted service: Independent wheelchair accessible

Linked offers

On the spot…

Address

Bourg district
04000 Digne-les-Bains
How do I get there?

Was this content useful to you?

Retour Retour
Site et monument historique à Digne-les-Bains

Cathédrale Notre-Dame du Bourg

Adresse

Quartier du Bourg
04000 Digne-les-Bains

Comment m’y rendre ?

À propos

Mentionnée pour la première fois en 1180, la cathédrale Notre Dame du Bourg est l’une des plus belles églises romanes en Provence, grâce à sa nef unique et ses quatre grandes travées. Elle a été classée Monument Historique en 1840.

La construction de la cathédrale Notre-Dame du Bourg date de la fin XIIe siècle début XIIIe siècle. Elle a été effectuée dans la droite ligne d'une succession d'édifices de religion chrétienne qui se sont implantés, cas unique, sur une nécropole païenne.

Elle a été érigée sur les bases d’une basilique primitive du Ve siècle, au cœur de la cité antique, alors que le lieu se dépeuple déjà. En effet, dès le Xe siècle, la population dignoise commence à se déplacer sur le plateau de Bellegarde, pour mieux se prémunir des attaques et des invasions. Le quartier du Bourg est alors abandonné au profit de la ville haute, à l’abri du château de l'évêque. Isolée et sans protection, la Cathédrale Notre Dame du Bourg subit des pillages et des dégradations. Son utilisation sera peu à peu réduite à partir du XIVe siècle pour ne fonctionner pratiquement que pour des cérémonies d'obsèques jusqu'au XXe siècle. Tandis que l'église Saint-Jérôme située dans la ville nouvelle devient édifice de substitution et sera reconnue co-cathédrale en 1962.
D'art roman avec un appareillage régulier en schiste, matériau local, la cathédrale Notre-Dame du Bourg est imposante par sa taille et son architecture aux lignes sobres et majestueuses. Sa nef unique en berceau souligne sa particularité tout comme les peintures datées en 1480 qui l'ornent. Fouillée par Gabrielle Démians d'Archimbaud, archéologue et professeur d'histoire médiévale à l'Université de Lettres et Sciences Humaines d'Aix-en-Provence est restaurée par Francesco Flavigny, architecte en chef des monuments historiques durant les décennies 1980-1990 elle abrite aujourd'hui une partie de la Crypte archéologique et tout un ensemble liturgique réalisé par un artiste contemporain, David Rabinowitch. Ella a repris désormais sa place en tant que cathédrale depuis 1996.

Informations complémentaires :
Pour les visites guidées : se renseigner à la Crypte au 04 92 61 09 73

Thèmes

  • Patrimoine religieux
  • Cathédrale

Précisions localisation

  • Arrêt de transport en commun à moins de 500 m
  • Arrêt de bus à moins de 500 m
  • En ville

Visite

Groupe accepté jusqu'a 50 personnes

Ouverture

Horaires d'ouverture du 01 juillet au 30 septembre 2024
Mardi Ouvert de 15h à 18h
Mercredi Ouvert de 15h à 18h
Jeudi Ouvert de 15h à 18h
Vendredi Ouvert de 15h à 18h
Samedi Ouvert de 15h à 18h
Dimanche Ouvert de 15h à 18h

Tarifs

L'accès à la cathédrale est gratuit ainsi que les visites guidées pour les groupes sur réservation à la Crypte archéologique : 04 92 61 09 73.

Gratuit

Prestations

Équipements

  • WC publics
  • Parking
  • Parking à proximité
  • Parking autocar

Services

  • Accès autocar
  • Visites gratuites
  • Visites guidées

Accueil animaux

Les animaux ne sont pas acceptés.

Accessibilité

  • Accessible en fauteuil roulant en autonomie

Offres liées

Sur place

Promenade du philosophe

Fermé

Crypte Archéologique Notre Dame du Bourg

Ce contenu vous a été utile ?

Enregistrer

Partager ce contenu