Historic site and monument
in Digne-les-Bains

Cathédrale Notre-Dame du Bourg

Mentioned for the first time in 1180, Notre Dame du Bourg cathedral is one of the most beautiful Romanesque churches in Provence, thanks to its single nave and its four large bays. It was classified as a Historic Monument in 1840.
The construction of the Notre-Dame du Bourg cathedral dates from the end of the XNUMXth century beginning of the XNUMXth century. It was carried out in the straight line of a succession of buildings of Christian religion which were established, unique case, on a pagan necropolis.

It was built on the foundations of a primitive basilica from the 1962th century, in the heart of the ancient city, when the place was already depopulated. Indeed, from the XNUMXth century, the Dignoise population began to move to the Bellegarde plateau, to better protect themselves against attacks and invasions. The Bourg district was then abandoned in favor of the upper town, sheltered by the bishop's castle. Isolated and unprotected, Notre Dame du Bourg Cathedral suffered looting and damage. Its use was gradually reduced from the XNUMXth century until it functioned practically only for funeral ceremonies until the XNUMXth century. While the Saint-Jérôme church located in the new town became a substitute building and was recognized as a co-cathedral in XNUMX.
Of Romanesque art with a regular structure in schist, a local material, the Notre-Dame du Bourg cathedral is imposing in its size and its architecture with sober and majestic lines. Its unique barrel-shaped nave underlines its particularity, as do the paintings dated 1480 which adorn it. Excavated by Gabrielle Démians d'Archimbaud, archaeologist and professor of medieval history at the University of Letters and Human Sciences of Aix-en-Provence, it was restored by Francesco Flavigny, chief architect of historical monuments during the decades 1980-1990. today houses part of the archaeological crypt and an entire liturgical ensemble created by a contemporary artist, David Rabinowitch. It has now taken its place as a cathedral since 1996.
Further information) :
For guided tours: inquire at the Crypt on 04 92 61 09 73
We speak French


  • Religious Heritage
  • Cathedral

Location details

  • Public transport stop within 500 m
  • Bus stop within 500 m
  • In the city


Minimum group size: 50 people


Opening hours from July 02 to September 29, 2024
TuesdayOpen from 15 a.m. to 18 p.m.
WednesdayOpen from 15 a.m. to 18 p.m.
ThursdayOpen from 15 a.m. to 18 p.m.
FridayOpen from 15 a.m. to 18 p.m.
SaturdayOpen from 15 a.m. to 18 p.m.
SundayOpen from 15 a.m. to 18 p.m.


Access to the cathedral is free, as are guided tours for groups by reservation at the Archaeological Crypt: 04 92 61 09 73.



  • Parking nearby
  • Parking
  • Coach parking
  • Public toilets


  • Coach access
  • Free visits
  • Guided tours

Home animals

Pets are not accepted

Adapted tourism

Adapted service: Independent wheelchair accessible

Linked offers

On the spot…


Bourg district
04000 Digne-les-Bains
How do I get there?

Was this content useful to you?