Back Back
Digne-les-Bains

Route Napoléon

Tourist route, from the Côte d'Azur to the Alps, via Digne les Bains.

Digne-les-Bains

Exiled to the Island of Elba in 1814, Napoleon Bonaparte decided to return to the forefront of French political life. A year later, on March 1, he disembarked at Golfe Juan and left with his infantry to regain his title. He chose to go to Lyon by the mountains and thus avoid the resistance of the royalist cities.

The Route Napoléon is therefore the section that connects Golfe Juan to Grenoble, via Grasse, Digne and Gap. Napoleon managed to cover 324 km in 6 days and on March 20 he returned to the Tuileries, in accordance with his predictions.

Napoleon at Digne

Approaching Digne on March 4, he stopped at the hamlet of La Clappe (current D 20) and wanted to eat. His servants prepared an omelet that Napoleon found very expensive: “So eggs are so rare here? he wondered. "No, not the eggs, but the emperors!" replied the innkeeper.

Resuming its route towards Digne, a mule laden with gold fell into a precipice and dropped its boxes. The soldiers picked up what they could and the rest was recovered after a forceful search by the inhabitants of the valley.

A tourist route

The Route Napoléon (RN 85), 314 km long, was baptized in 1932. It was previously called the Route des Alpes d'hiver, then became Route Napoléon, and remains one of the best accesses to discover particularly natural landscapes. endearing.

This mythical route, a historic link between the Côte d'Azur, Haute-Provence and the Alps, invites you to discover activities around the Route, in an exceptional environment, with very diverse heritage, off the beaten track.

The Napoleon Route crosses protected and preserved areas such as the Verdon Regional Nature Park, the Haute Provence Geological Nature Reserve, a place of transition between the Alps and Provence.

The Route Napoléon is also dotted with a renowned architectural heritage, such as the Notre Dame du Bourg cathedral with its archaeological crypt in Digne les Bains.

Was this content useful to you?

Save

Share this content

Retour Retour
Digne-les-Bains

Route Napoléon

Itinéraire touristique, de la Côte d'Azur aux Alpes, en passant par Digne les Bains.

Digne-les-Bains

Exilé à l'Ile d'Elbe en 1814, Napoléon Bonaparte décide de revenir au premier plan de la vie politique française. Un an plus tard, le 1er mars, il débarque à Golfe Juan et part accompagné de son infanterie reconquérir son titre. Il choisit de se rendre à Lyon par les montagnes et éviter ainsi les résistances des villes royalistes.

La Route Napoléon est donc le tronçon qui relie Golfe Juan à Grenoble, via Grasse, Digne et Gap. Napoléon a réussi à parcourir 324 km en 6 jours et le 20 mars il est rentré aux Tuileries, conformément à ses prédictions.

Napoléon à Digne

Approchant de Digne, le 4 mars, il fit une halte au hameau de la Clappe (actuelle D 20) et souhaita se restaurer. Ses serviteurs préparèrent une omelette que Napoléon trouva fort chère : « les oeufs sont donc si rares ici ? » s’étonna t-il. « Non, pas les oeufs, mais les empereurs !» répondit l’aubergiste.

Reprenant sa route vers Digne, un mulet chargé d’or tomba dans un précipice et laissa tomber ses caissettes. Les soldats ramassèrent ce qu’ils purent et le reste fut récupéré après force recherche par les habitants de la vallée.

Un itinéraire touristique

La Route Napoléon (RN 85), longue de 314 km, a été baptisée en 1932. Elle a été auparavant dénommée Route des Alpes d’hiver, puis devenue Route Napoléon, et demeure l’un des meilleurs accès pour découvrir des paysages naturels particulièrement attachants.

Cette route mythique, lien historique entre la Côte d’Azur, la Haute-Provence et les Alpes, invite à la découverte d’activités autour de la Route, dans un environnement exceptionnel, de patrimoines très diversifiés, hors des sentiers battus.

La Route Napoléon traverse des espaces protégés et préservés comme le Parc naturel Régional du Verdon, la Réserve Naturelle Géologique de Haute Provence, lieu de transition entre les Alpes et la Provence.

La Route Napoléon est également jalonnée d’un patrimoine architectural de renommée, comme la cathédrale Notre Dame du Bourg avec sa crypte archéologique à Digne les Bains.

Ce contenu vous a été utile ?

Enregistrer

Partager ce contenu