Geological nature reserve of Haute-ProvenceNature Reserve

Surroundings of Digne © © M. Cristofani / Hearts of nature / SIPA
Gorges du Verdon © © M. Cristofani / Hearts of nature / SIPA
Ammonite slab © © M. Cristofani / Hearts of nature / SIPA
Site of the sirenians of Castellane © © M. Cristofani / Hearts of nature / SIPA

Surroundings of Digne
Gorges du Verdon
Ammonite slab
Site of the sirenians of Castellane
The national geological nature reserve of Haute-Provence located between the Verdon and the Durance is labeled for the diversity of its landscapes, witnesses of the geological past of this massif and of the Earth. It is the largest reserve of this type in Europe.

Description

Created in 1984 by decree, the geological reserve of Haute-Provence covers an area of ​​200 hectares between the Alpes de Haute-Provence and the Var. It concerns the Digne thrust sheet, the pleated arch of Castellane, the Digne-Valensole basin and the Provencal Var links. It protects and enhances geological sites, fossils in place, landscapes with folded and fractured layers.
The protection is based on two scales of limits. On the one hand, a set of 18 geological sites on which the extraction and collection of any fossil form are prohibited. On the other hand, a vast protection zone extended over 59 municipalities where the extraction of fossils is prohibited and the collection of naturally released forms is tolerated, if practiced in limited quantities. Among the geotopes highlighted, we can mention the ammonite slab of Isnards in Digne, the fossiliferous ichthyosaur sites of La Robine or the sirenian site of the Tabori ravine in Taulanne.

Labels & accessibility

  • Nature Reserve

Visit

Individual

  • Unguided individual tours permanently

Groupes

  • Unguided group tours permanently

Situation

Calculate my route

Comfort / services

  • Parking
  • Free visits

Prices

Free.

Opening

All year.

Nearby

Billy Monkey

Restaurant

Village of Entries

Historic site and monument

Réserve naturelle géologique de Haute-ProvenceRéserve naturelle

Environs de Digne © © M. Cristofani / Coeurs de nature / SIPA
Gorges du Verdon © © M. Cristofani / Coeurs de nature / SIPA
Dalle à ammonites © © M. Cristofani / Coeurs de nature / SIPA
Site des siréniens de Castellane © © M. Cristofani / Coeurs de nature / SIPA

Environs de Digne
Gorges du Verdon
Dalle à ammonites
Site des siréniens de Castellane
La réserve naturelle nationale géologique de Haute-Provence située entre le Verdon et la Durance est labellisé pour la diversité de ses paysages, témoins du passé géologique de ce massif et de la Terre. Elle est plus grande réserve de ce type en Europe.

Description

Créée en 1984 par décret, la réserve géologique de Haute-Provence s’étend sur un territoire de 200 000 hectares entre les Alpes de Haute-Provence et le Var. Elle concerne la nappe de charriage de Digne, l’arc plissé de Castellane, le bassin de Digne-Valensole et des chaînons provençaux varois. Elle protège et valorise des sites géologiques, des fossiles en place, des paysages aux couches plissées et fracturées.
La protection s’appuie sur deux échelles de limites. D’une part un ensemble de 18 sites géologiques sur lesquels l’extraction et le ramassage de toute forme fossile sont interdits. D’autre part une vaste zone de protection étendue sur 59 communes où l’extraction des fossiles est interdite et le ramassage des formes naturellement dégagées est toléré, s’il est pratiqué en quantité limitée. Parmi les géotopes mis en valeur, on peut citer la dalle à ammonites des Isnards à Digne, les sites fossilifères à ichtyosaures de La Robine ou le site à siréniens du ravin de Tabori à Taulanne.

Labels & accessibilité

  • Réserve naturelle

Visite

Individuelle

  • Visites individuelles libres en permanence

Groupes

  • Visites groupes libres en permanence

Confort / services

  • Parking
  • Visites gratuites

Tarifs

Gratuit.

Ouverture

Toute l'année.