Village of Aiglun

Panorama Old Aiglun © Charles Speth
The Old Aiglun © Charles Speth
Aiglun panoramic view © CG
EAGLE © Tourist Office Provence-Alpes Digne-les-Bains
Church of Old Aiglun © OT Provence Alpes Digne-les-Bains
Church of St. Madeleine © Charles Speth
Church of St. Madeleine © Charles Speth
On the heights of Aiglun © OT Provence Alpes Digne-les-Bains
Church of St. Madeleine © CG

Panorama Old Aiglun
The Old Aiglun
Aiglun panoramic view
EAGLE
Church of Old Aiglun
Church of St. Madeleine
Church of St. Madeleine
On the heights of Aiglun
Church of St. Madeleine
Aiglun is located 15 minutes from the center of Digne-les-Bains, near the Route Napoléon. Le Vieil Aiglun, the most beautiful viewpoint in the village, culminates at an altitude of 830 m.

Description

Aiglun is a town located 8 km south-west of Digne-les-Bains, called in ancient times "Castrum de Agleduno", in reference to the eagles that circled on the top of the Puy hill. Later, it was nicknamed "Aiglun the Noble", due to the presence of seven noble families, when Aiglun was once a fortified village with more than 200 inhabitants.

Today, Aiglun has approximately 1 inhabitants. You will find a church - dedicated to Sainte Delphine -, a school, local shops (bar, hairdresser, etc.), a rapidly evolving business area (including two perfume manufacturers: Nicolosi and Terra Continens) and several rural lodgings (including three at Le Vieil Aiglun). There is practically no more livestock, only a few sheep and goats - therefore cheese -, and very diversified crops including olive trees and lavender (fine lavender and lavandin).

The Old Aiglun

Le Vieil Aiglun, the most beautiful viewpoint in the village, culminates at an altitude of 830 m.

The position of the old village on this high place made it suitable for fortification, as demonstrated by the remains of ramparts and towers. No doubt this place was famous in the centuries of feudalism. Abandoned during the desertification by the inhabitants who left to settle downstairs or elsewhere, the chapel was gradually abandoned and deconsecrated.

The chemin du Vieil Aiglun, starting from avenue Jouve, next to the town hall, will take you to the highest point of the town called "du Puy", passing through Saint Jean then the Vieil Aiglun and their chapels.

The Napoleon Route

Aiglun is located 15 minutes from the center of Digne-les-Bains, near the Route Napoléon. This village has, in fact, seen the Emperor pass during his return from the island of Elba in March 1815. There remains today, in the town, the real route of the route taken by Napoleon and his troops. : the "Imperial Way", connecting Castellane to Digne les Bains over 52 km that can be traveled on foot or on horseback.

The Church of Saint Mary Magdalene

The church of Vieil Aiglun, in the Romanesque style and dedicated to Saint Mary Magdalene, was built during the reign of the De Rochas and was completed in 1555. Its very massive construction - buttressed walls and a freestone bell tower - the makes it visible from afar. It contains a XNUMXth century altarpiece, a historical monument listed as an object, in an archaic style.

Sunday mass is celebrated in the new church located in the valley. However, the Vieil Aiglun church is open on the occasion of events, such as Heritage Days, in September, or the Music Festival, in June. A mass is also celebrated there on the occasion of Saint Mary Magdalene, in July. Next to the church, an orientation table invites you to discover the various massifs and curiosities near Vieil Aiglun.

Built heritage

In the village, a few houses date from the 1635th century. Aiglun Castle is a large 1935th century rectangular house with turrets at each corner. Built around XNUMX by the widow of François de Villeneuve, known as “Dame d'Espinouse”, it was undoubtedly the pleasure house of the bishops of Digne. A clinic was set up there in XNUMX.

Labels & accessibility

  • Napoleonic places Route napoleon

Situation

Calculate my route

Comfort / services

  • Coach access
  • Motorhomes allowed
  • Recreation center
  • Room rentals

Activities on site

  • Animation

Opening

All year, every day.

Nearby

Village of Mirabeau

Historic site and monument

Village of Barras

Historic site and monument

Village d’Aiglun

Panorama Vieil Aiglun © Charles Speth
Le Vieil Aiglun © Charles Speth
Vue panoramique Aiglun © CG
AIGLUN © OT Provence-Alpes Digne-les-Bains
Eglise du Vieil Aiglun © OT Provence Alpes Digne-les-Bains
Eglise Ste Madeleine © Charles Speth
Eglise Ste Madeleine © Charles Speth
Sur les hauteurs d’Aiglun © OT Provence Alpes Digne-les-Bains
Eglise Ste Madeleine © CG

Panorama Vieil Aiglun
Le Vieil Aiglun
Vue panoramique Aiglun
AIGLUN
Eglise du Vieil Aiglun
Eglise Ste Madeleine
Eglise Ste Madeleine
Sur les hauteurs d’Aiglun
Eglise Ste Madeleine
Aiglun se situe à 15 minutes du centre de Digne-les-Bains, à proximité de la Route Napoléon. Le Vieil Aiglun, le plus beau point de vue du village, culmine à 830 m d’altitude.

Description

Aiglun est une commune située à 8 km au sud-ouest de Digne-les-Bains, appelée dans les temps anciens « Castrum de Agleduno », en référence aux aigles qui tournoyaient sur la cime de la colline du Puy. Plus tard, elle a été surnommée « Aiglun la Noble », en raison de la présence de sept familles nobles, quand Aiglun était autrefois un village fortifié qui comptait plus de 200 habitants.

Aujourd'hui, Aiglun compte environ 1 481 habitants. Vous y trouverez une église - dédiée à Sainte Delphine -, une école, des commerces de proximité (bar, coiffeur…), une zone d'activité en pleine évolution (notamment deux fabricants de parfum : Nicolosi et Terra Continens) et plusieurs gîtes ruraux (dont trois aménagés au Vieil Aiglun). Il n'y a pratiquement plus d'élevage, seulement quelques moutons et chèvres - donc du fromage -, et des cultures très diversifiées comprenant des oliviers et de la lavande (lavande fine et lavandin).

Le Vieil Aiglun

Le Vieil Aiglun, le plus beau point de vue du village, culmine à 830 m d’altitude.

La position de l’ancien village sur ce lieu élevé le rendait propre à être fortifié, comme le démontre les vestiges de remparts et de tours. Nul doute que ce lieu a été célèbre dans les siècles de la féodalité. Abandonnée lors de la désertification par les habitants partis s’installer en bas ou ailleurs, la chapelle fut petit à petit abandonnée et dé-consacrée.

Le chemin du Vieil Aiglun, au départ de l’avenue Jouve, à côté de la mairie, vous mènera jusqu’au point culminant de la commune dit « du Puy », en passant par Saint Jean puis le Vieil Aiglun et leurs chapelles.

La Route Napoléon

Aiglun se situe à 15 minutes du centre de Digne-les-Bains, à proximité de la Route Napoléon. Ce village a, en effet, vu passer l’Empereur lors de son retour de l’île l’Elbe en mars 1815. Il reste aujourd’hui, sur la commune, le véritable tracé de l’itinéraire effectué par Napoléon et ses troupes : la « Voie impériale », reliant Castellane à Digne les Bains sur 52 km pouvant se parcourir à pieds ou à cheval.

L’Église Sainte Marie-Madeleine

L’église du Vieil Aiglun, de style Roman et dédiée à Sainte Marie Madeleine, a été construite au cours du règne des De Rochas et achevée en 1555. Sa construction très massive - des murs à contrefort et un clocher en pierres de taille - la rend visible de très loin. Elle contient un retable du XVIIe, monument historique inscrit au titre objet, d’un style archaïque.

La messe du dimanche est célébrée dans la nouvelle église située dans la vallée. Toutefois, l’église du Vieil Aiglun est ouverte à l’occasion d’événements, comme les Journées du Patrimoine, en septembre, ou encore la Fête de la musique, en juin. Une messe y est également célébrée à l’occasion de la Sainte Marie-Madeleine, en juillet. À côté de l’église, une table d’orientation vous invite à découvrir les différents massifs et curiosités à proximité du Vieil Aiglun.

Patrimoine bâti

Dans le village, quelques maisons datent du XVIIe siècle. Le château d’Aiglun est une grande maison rectangulaire du XVIIe siècle dotée de tourelles à chaque angle. Construit vers 1635 par la veuve de François de Villeneuve, connue sous le nom de « Dame d’Espinouse », il fut sans doute la maison de plaisance des évêques de Digne. Une clinique y a été installée en 1935.

Confort / services

  • Accès autocar
  • Camping-cars autorisés
  • Centre de loisirs
  • Location de salles

Activités sur place

  • Animation

Ouverture

Toute l'année, tous les jours.

A proximité

Village du Chaffaut St Jurson

Site et monument historiques

Village de Champtercier

Site et monument historiques

American Drive

Restaurant