Village of La Robine sur Galabre

La Robine on Galabre © Jacques Collieux
La Robine on Galabre © Jacques Collieux
Hiking in the Robines © Jacques Collieux

La Robine on Galabre
La Robine on Galabre
Hiking in the Robines
La Robine sur Galabre, a small village located 12 km from Digne, is characterized by its black marls.

Description

To get there, you will take a small road which will seduce you with its picturesque landscape of wooded and gullyed hills. Since 1973 the hamlets of Tanaron, Ainac and Lambert have been part of the commune. It has about 300 inhabitants. Its territory extends north to the impressive Clue de Barles. This village perched at an altitude of 750 m is crossed by the Galabre (a tributary of the Bès).
The Summit of Nibles (or Small Bell) (1909 m) constitutes the highest point of the commune, the two other peaks are the Bell of Barles (or Large Bell) (1887 m) and the Pointe d'Aiguille (1686 m).
You will be surprised by the astonishing hills of black marl furrowed and worked by millennial erosion and charmed by the vast green meadows planted with poplars and firs, pear trees, almond trees and apple trees.
Located within the geological nature reserve of Haute Provence, La Robine sur Galabre has remarkable sites, in particular the site of the Ichthyosaure (fossil of a marine reptile 185 million years old) and a few kilometers to the south, on the town of Digne-les-Bains, you can discover the ammonite slab, the most famous site of the Geological Reserve. More than 1550 ammonites are spread over 320 m².
Hiking and mountain biking are the activities of choice within this magnificent natural environment. By bike, a magnificent circuit of about fifty kilometers going around the Summit of Blayeul allows you to discover the entire Bès valley.

Situation

Calculate my route

Opening

All year, every day.

Nearby

Village de La Robine sur Galabre

La Robine sur Galabre, petit village situé à 12 km de Digne, se caractérise par ses marnes noires.

Description

Pour vous y rendre, vous emprunterez une petite route qui vous séduira par son paysage pittoresque de collines boisées et ravinées. Depuis 1973 les hameaux de Tanaron, Ainac et Lambert font partie de la commune. Elle comporte environ 300 habitants. Son territoire s'étend au nord jusqu'à l'impressionnante Clue de Barles. Ce village perché à 750 m d’altitude est traversé par la Galabre (affluent du Bès).
Le Sommet de Nibles (ou Petite cloche) (1909 m) constitue le point culminant de la commune, les deux autres sommets sont la Cloche de Barles (ou Grande Cloche) (1887 m) et la Pointe d'Aiguille (1686 m).
Vous serez surpris par les étonnantes collines de marne noire ravinées et travaillées par une érosion millénaire et charmé par les vastes prairies verdoyantes plantées de peupliers et sapins, poiriers, amandiers et pommiers.
Située au sein de la réserve naturelle géologique de Haute Provence La Robine sur Galabre possède des sites remarquables, notamment le site de l’Ichthyosaure (fossile d’un reptile marin vieux de 185 millions d’années) et à quelques kilomètres au sud, sur la commune de Digne-les-Bains, vous pourrez découvrir la dalle à ammonites, le site le plus connu de la Réserve Géologique. Plus de 1550 ammonites se répartissent sur 320 m².
Randonnées pédestres et VTT constituent des activités de choix au sein de ce magnifique environnement naturel. A vélo, un magnifique circuit d'une cinquantaine de kilomètres faisant le tour du Sommet de Blayeul permet de découvrir toute la vallée du Bès.

Ouverture

Toute l'année, tous les jours.