Departmental archives

5000066-slideshow © departmental archives
5000068-slideshow © departmental archives
5000065-slideshow © departmental archives
5000067-slideshow © departmental archives
5000064-slideshow © departmental archives

5000066-slideshow
5000068-slideshow
5000065-slideshow
5000067-slideshow
5000064-slideshow
The Departmental Archives of the Alpes-de-Haute-Provence offer all year round, free of charge, in their premises or “outside the walls”, exhibitions, readings of archives and conferences on the history of the department open to all public.

Description

The consultation of the archives and works of the study library is free and is done in the reading room, on registration at the reception of the Archives.

Exhibitions 2021-2022:

Abandoned places, Haute Provence over time:
In 1939, the Basses-Alpes appeared like the land of ghost villages, according to the journalist Georges Sadoul who traveled through them! Because in one century, between 1850 and 1950, in full rural exodus, their population was reduced by half: individuals and families leaving villages and hamlets, dreaming of a better world. If today, initiatives bring back to life places that were once forgotten, the land still bears the scars of this past: ruins. Armed with his camera, Pascal Hubert set out on the paths to discover vestiges sometimes overgrown by vegetation. It offers poetic images of it and reveals tenuous clues to the past: a neglected tombstone, an old tottering door, farther on, an ancient stony path or a century-old lock, the fragment of a stone, the ivy that soars on a wall... The texts that accompany the pictures tell a story, a story that bursts with colors and lights.
A publication is on sale at the Departmental Archives or by correspondence.
Departmental archives, until February 2022.
Free entry in compliance with health rules from Monday to Friday 9 a.m. to 12 p.m. and from 13 p.m. to 17 p.m.

Portraits of Haute-Provence. Vial and photography from the end of the 1930th century to XNUMX:
It is on a journey in images that Eugène Vial invites us, a few decades away. With more than 3500 shots, this important photographic collection offers a singular look at the life of the Bas-Alpins, from the extreme end of the 26th century to the middle of the 2021th century. They are only urban and rural landscapes with streets, buildings... or portraits of men, women and children, from all levels of society, captured in their daily life or posing in the photographer's studio, some haughty in full uniform or in their best clothes, others modest in their everyday clothes. Many soldiers mobilized during the Great War posed in front of the photographer, some for the last time. The views still show the changes in society and the irruption of modernity, with its planes, its automobiles... At the Departmental Archives, from November 2023, XNUMX until March XNUMX.
Free entry in compliance with health rules from Monday to Friday 9 a.m. to 12 p.m. and from 13 p.m. to 17 p.m.

Our news is regularly updated on the website www.archives04.fr

COVID 19 special provisions

We are attentive to health developments and compliance with the health rules in force. We are committed to an approach that respects the recommendations made by the various competent authorities. Do not hesitate to contact us to know them.

Labels & accessibility

  • Haute Provence members

Adapted tourism

  • Wheelchair accessible with assistance

Cultural activities

  • Discovery
  • History
  • Genealogy
  • Heritage

Situation

Calculate my route

Comfort / services

  • Parking
  • Free parking

Prices

Free

Opening

All year. Everyday.
Closed Saturday and Sunday.
Exceptional closures on January 1, Easter Monday, Ascension Thursday, Whit Monday, May 1, May 8, July 14, November 11 and December 25.
9h-12h / 13h-17h
Annual closures: between Christmas and New Year's Day and two weeks in January.

Archives départementales

5000066-diaporama © archives départementales
5000068-diaporama © archives départementales
5000065-diaporama © archives départementales
5000067-diaporama © archives départementales
5000064-diaporama © archives départementales

5000066-diaporama
5000068-diaporama
5000065-diaporama
5000067-diaporama
5000064-diaporama
Les Archives départementales des Alpes-de-Haute-Provence proposent toute l’année, gratuitement, dans leurs locaux ou « hors les murs », des expositions, lectures d’archives et des conférences sur l’histoire du département ouvertes à tout public.

Description

La consultation des archives et ouvrages de la bibliothèque d’études est gratuite et se fait en salle de lecture, sur inscription à l’accueil des Archives.

Expositions 2021-2022 :

Lieux abandonnés, la Haute Provence au fil du temps :
En 1939, les Basses-Alpes apparaissent tel le pays des villages fantômes, selon le journaliste Georges Sadoul qui les parcourt ! Car en un siècle, entre 1850 et 1950, en plein exode rural, leur population s'est réduite de moitié : individus et familles déguerpissant des villages et hameaux, rêvant d'un monde meilleur. Si aujourd'hui, des initiatives rendent à la vie des lieux autrefois oubliés, la terre porte toujours les stigmates de ce passé : des ruines. Armé de son appareil photographique, Pascal Hubert s'est lancé sur les chemins à la découverte de vestiges quelquefois envahis par la végétation. Il en offre de poétiques images et révèle de ténus indices du passé : une pierre tombale délaissée, une vieille porte qui chancelle, plus loin, un antique chemin pierreux ou une serrure centenaire, le fragment d'une pierre, le lierre qui s'élance sur un mur... Les textes qui accompagnent les clichés en racontent une histoire, une histoire qui éclate de couleurs et de lumières.
Une publication est en vente aux Archives départementales ou par correspondance.
Archives départementales, jusqu'en février 2022.
Entrée libre dans le respect des règles sanitaires du lundi au vendredi 9h à 12h et de 13h à 17h.

Portraits de Haute-Provence. Vial et la photographie de la fin du XIXe siècle à 1930 :
C'est à un voyage en images qu'Eugène Vial nous convie, à quelques décennies de distance, Fort de plus de 3500 clichés, cet important fonds photographique livre un regard singulier sur la vie des Bas-Alpins, de l'extrême fin du XIXe siècle jusqu'au milieu du XXe siècle. Ce ne sont que paysages urbains et ruraux avec les rues, les édifices... ou des portraits d'hommes, de femmes et d'enfants, de tous les états de la société, saisis dans leur vie quotidienne ou qui posent dans l'atelier du photographe, les uns altiers en grand uniforme ou dans leurs plus beaux habits, les autres modestes dans leurs vêtements de tous les jours. Beaucoup de soldats mobilisés durant la Grande Guerre ont posé devant le photographe, certains pour la dernière fois. Les vues montrent encore les changements de la société et l'irruption de la modernité, avec ses avions, ses automobiles... Aux Archives départementales, du 26 novembre 2021 jusqu'à mars 2023.
Entrée libre dans le respect des règles sanitaires du lundi au vendredi 9h à 12 et de 13h à 17h.

Nos actualités sont régulièrement mises à jour sur le site www.archives04.fr

Dispositions spéciales COVID 19

Consultation sur RDV par mail au http://www.archives04.fr/ ou au 04 92 36 75 00.
Le pass sanitaire est désormais exigé pour les personnes de plus de 12ans et 2mois :
- aux expositions
- aux conférences
- aux lectures d'archives
Les enfants de moins de 12ans ne sont pas concernés.

Labels & accessibilité

  • Adhérents Haute Provence

Tourisme adapté

  • Accessible en fauteuil roulant avec aide

Activités culturelles

  • Découverte
  • Histoire
  • Généalogie
  • Patrimoine

Confort / services

  • Parking
  • Parking gratuit

Tarifs

Gratuit

Ouverture

Toute l'année. Tous les jours.
Fermé samedi et dimanche.
Fermetures exceptionnelles les 1er janvier, Lundi de Pâques, Jeudi de l'Ascension, Lundi de Pentecôte, 1er mai, 8 mai, 14 juillet, 11 novembre et 25 décembre.
9h-12h / 13h-17h
Fermetures annuelles : entre Noël et Jour de l'An et deux semaines en janvier.

A proximité

Chapelle St Vincent

Site et monument historiques

Villa Gaïa Hôtel & Pension

Hôtel - Restaurant